And Then There Was Silence


I hope everyone had a great Christmas this year. I know our family did. My son walked away with a houseful of Thomas and I received everything I wanted and more. My Husband also got what he wanted, so all in all being with our family this was the best Christmas so far. I’m sure we will have many more wonderful Christmas’s to come.

I have to say, I give a lot of credit to the people who host Christmas every year. With all the work that goes into just one day I feel like I just got Married all over again. I absolutely loved hosting Christmas this year, but I think if I ever get the chance to host again I will definitely be more organized the next time. I have to be grateful that my new place has the space to hold our family comfortably. I really didn’t have to worry about seating or food too much so that was a relief. All in All I think our First Christmas in our new place went very smoothly.

This was a year for many First’s in my family. We moved into our own place this year, We hosted our First Christmas, I received my First Sewing Machine, and that’s just to name a few. This was also my first year of going shopping the day after Christmas. I can honestly say that I think it will be my last. I have to give my husband the most credit as he was the one driving all day, taking me from store to store to find a few things. I really couldn’t imagine driving in that mess yesterday by myself. I honestly think that 70% of the people in Wisconsin forgot how to drive yesterday. There were accidents all over and people cutting people off, It was just a mad house. Also for being the day after Christmas you would think people would be in better moods. Every store we went into their were people yelling at each other and basically pushing people out-of-the-way to get that holiday discount. So having trucked my husband and my son through all that yesterday, I have decided that next year we can wait a few days before popping into the stores to see what’s left on the shelves.

I will be back on here sharing our crafting projects as soon as I organize through everything that we received this year and get it put away.

I’m very interested to hear about everyone elses Christmas’s and after Christmas shopping adventures. If you have any stories please share them in the comments section. I know I wasnt alone out there yesterday.

Happy Holidays,

About smalltownmama08

I am a small town girl and my beautiful family and I are now living in the town i grew up in. I am a stay at home mother and a full time student.

Posted on December 27, 2011, in christmas, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We had a very relaxed Christmas, in contrast to all former silly season events! Since we’re on only one income now and usually find the Christmas holidays a bit stressful [then I get depressed], we decided on no cards, no presents, no special foods or events at our place! That might sound quite grim, but I’ve had the BEST Christmas-time I’ve ever had since childhood! Before the holidays Spotrick & I had decided on some things we “wanted” rather than “needed”, so we bought or ordered them- nothing expensive – just stuff! For events/food, we attended big parties Christmas Eve & Boxing Day only 1km either side of home with close friends who ALWAYS have these events. We ate scrumptious food, including home-glazed ham, lots of barbecued prawns, roast quails, a little turkey [one friend has a turkey farm] and stacks of homemade cakes & sweets including rolled cherry pavlova instead of hot Christmas pudding! Christmas Day we lurked quietly, enjoying the peace and things we already had. And of course we had to digest the previous feast and get ready for the next! All good!

Please Comment Back! We would love to hear from you!