Very First Quilting Square


Thats right, its official I have a new love. QUILTING!!!!!! I had picked up a Fat Quarter Bundle at Wal-Mart the day after Christmas. Seeing how I just LOVE Owl Print,  I knew exactly what I wanted it for. I just had to learn how to cut fabric and sew. After weeks of practicing on some old shirts I had cut up, I decided to try out my new skills and attempt to make my first quilting square.

I just love this fabric and I found an online store that was selling it, however I believe that they stopped carrying it. Here is the site link if you wanted to see more fabric of hers.

 The site is called Diaper Fabric Fanatic

DFF logo

One more thing…..  I’m going to be linking to Quilt Story, see the sidebar  for their Fabric Tuesday Button!!! Take a peek. There are other fabulous projects to see too. You will also be able find this on Red Pepper Quilts  the Patchwork and Quilting Blog List. 

Happy Quilting!!

About smalltownmama08

I am a small town girl and my beautiful family and I are now living in the town i grew up in. I am a stay at home mother and a full time student.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Fabric, Quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. cute little design, could wind up being a real fun quilt, but aren’t your leaves going to interfere with the blocks you’ll be attaching to it.

  2. Yea! Welcome to the “club”! We all know how addicting it is LOL! BTW, I’m a smalltown mom too!

    • I honestly did not know that it would bring me this amount of joy. And it brought out all new loves for me like fabric and buttons. I never knew there were so many beautiful prints , colors, and textures to fabric. I think my one of my big goals is to one day make a storybook type quilt.

      Thank you for taking the time to stop in and comment.

  3. Good work! That’s a great start and be warned, you will never go back!! Thanks for linking and glad to have you!

    • Thank You so much, I never knew that it would be this much fun. I am so glad that I stepped out of my comfort zone and took the giant leap into the sewing and quilting world. I can’t wait to finish this one and start working on the next one. I just finished cutting up the squares for the next one.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment and I was so glad that I found your site. You have so much great information.

  4. I love owls so this block caught my eye right away – very very cute! I agree with all of the other posters that now you are forever in the grips of quilting. But you’ll love it – even if your wallet doesn’t!

  5. When some one searches for his essential thing, so he/she wishes to be available that in
    detail, therefore that thing is maintained over
    here.

Please Comment Back! We would love to hear from you!