Slow Cooked Bone-In Turkey Breast


Slow Cooked Bone-In Turkey Breast

This is the easiest way to make your holiday bird so you can spend your time with your family and less time in the kitchen.

 

I wish I had a photo for this recipe however I forgot. I promise you though, this is one of the tenderest turkeys your will ever eat. I love turkey and chicken, However I have never had turkey like this before. If you have a Bone-In Turkey Breast trust me this is the recipe for you!!

 

My Husband has just recently bought us a 7 qt. Crock-Pot Slow Cooker. I love it!! There is so much you can do with a slow cooker, but I would have never have thought to put a turkey in it. One night  I had the worst craving for turkey and mashed potatoes, so Jason got up took the crock pot out and told me it would be ready by morning. Sure enough when I woke up in the morning the house was filled with the lovely aroma of a cooking bird. My mouth just started to water. Around 10 am I was eating the most tender turkey I have ever had. I told him I had to share this recipe with everyone. So he wrote down what he did. Really it’s so easy that we slept though most of the cooking time.

ingredients Needed:

  • 6-7 Qt. crock Pot
  • 7# Bone-In Turkey Breast
  • 6 cups of Apple Juice
  • 1/2 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Liquid Smoke
  • 1/2 cup chopped Onion
  • 1 stick of salted Butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped Celery

Directions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients into the crock-pot
  2. Set on low for 10 hours
  3. After the 10 hours pick out the large chunks of meat and separate the meat from the bone.
  4. Strain the liquid and save for the gravy.

Gravy Directions:

  1. Add Rue to the strained liquid.(Rue = 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of butter.
  2. Heat to a boil. Then turn off.
  3. If making your own Rue saute in a pan untill golden brown. Then turn off.

That is it. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my family did. This may not be the healthiest way to make turkey, However its the easiest and it tastes so GOOD!!

 

Happy Eating!!

About smalltownmama08

I am a small town girl and my beautiful family and I are now living in the town i grew up in. I am a stay at home mother and a full time student.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in christmas, Family, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please Comment Back! We would love to hear from you!